Articles

Day 3–Scheduling Nightmare

In Journal Entry, Menu, Workout on May 22, 2010 by imgettinskinny

So Day 3 (yesterday) proved to be a bit of a scheduling challenge.  As is typical for me, I had way more tasks on my schedule than I had available hours to complete them.  And, I ended up not having as many hours as I had initially expected to have.  My husband and I are sharing a car and I had the car for the day.  He ended up getting off work about 4 hours earlier than we anticipated.  Since I leave tomorrow to go out of town for a month, that was sort of an unexpected blessing.  But it did interfere with my to-do list.  🙂  So I have a bunch to do today.  I did squeeze in a workout but not a very big one.  I was thankful to at least have done something.  Tomorrow will be a traveling day for me so I don’t anticipate being able to get in a workout at all which means I will have to carve out some time today to exercise–even if it’s just 20 minutes.

I am a big fan of Hungry Girl recipes and yesterday I tried out a new 108 calorie dessert that is spectacular (recipe is linked below).  Here’s what I ate yesterday and the tiny little bit of a workout I got:

FOOD JOURNAL

BREAKFAST 10:30 am, 175 calories:  1/2 c. Egg Beaters with 1 wedge LC cheese

SNACK 1:30 pm, 250 calories:  Whole Wheat English muffin, Kashi dark chocolate mocha bar

LUNCH 4:00 pm, 303 calories:  Hungry Girl Mac-n-cheese

SNACK 6:30 pm, 80 calories:  Babybel cheese wheel & G2 drink

DINNER & DESSERT 9:00 pm, 443 calories:  baked southwestern salmon atop Dole Southwest Salad and steamed brussels sprouts.  Dessert:  Hungry Girl Red Velvet Whoopie Pie

TOTAL CALORIES:  1,251

By the way, I am also a big fan of Dole Salad Kits.  They are easy to make (which gives me no excuse to pass on salad), low in calories, and VERY tasty.  This particular meal was incredibly awesome and one that I will repeat.  I bought a pack of frozen salmon filets and a bunch of Dole salad kits.  I mixed a little light ranch dressing with a little ketchup and brushed it on the salmon filet before baking it for 30 minutes.  Then I added 1/2 a tomato and 1/2 an avocado to the Southwest Salad kit (which makes enough for 2 entree salads).  When the salmon was done I cut it up into my salad and made some microwave steamed brussels sprouts to eat on the side.  It was INCREDIBLY tasty.  Plus, my husband was home in time for dinner so we ate together out on our back porch and then topped it off with the new Hungry Girl dessert.  It was perfect.

Now for the not-so-perfect:  my workout.

WORKOUT

power-walked 1/2 mile outside–I got a call from my bro who I haven’t talked to in a long time as I was heading outside for my run so I power-walked.  My trainer used to say that it was good to be able to talk while power-walking/jogging because it forces you to breathe; just as long as it doesn’t make you walk too slowly.

ran 1/2 mile outside (once we got off the phone)

Leave a comment